The UN Youth Moot Courts is an academic simulation of the juridical procedures in front of the international courts, held in English and French and organized by the UN Youth Association of Romania.
Being one of the most important projects of the association, its purpose is to give to the participants the opportunity to apply their knowledge of International law, European Union law and Human Rights.

The competition is also a forum for students to acquire practical experience on how to prepare and present legal arguments and how to debate current legal and social issues.

Being at its 7th edition, this year the UN Youth Moot Courts Competition will take place from 20th to 22th ofApril 2018 at the Faculty of Law, University of Bucharest.

The UN Youth Moot Courts Competition welcomes students to a series of simulations of the juridical procedures in front of the international courts. The Competition consists of an extensive three-day educational program.

Throughout this program, students are given the opportunity to engage in discussions on the prospects and challenges of international justice so they can put into practice their knowledge.

This edition aims to educate and train the students in simulating the juridical procedures in front of the International Court of Justice, the European Court of Human Rights and the International Criminal Court.

The Courts

International Court of Justice

... is is the primary judicial branch of the United Nations (UN). Seated in the Peace Palace in The Hague, Netherlands, the court settles legal disputes submitted to it by states and provides advisory opinions on legal questions submitted to it by duly authorized international branches, agencies, and the UN General Assembly.

Established in 1945 by the UN Charter, the Court began work in 1946 as the successor to the Permanent Court of International Justice. The Statute of the International Court of Justice, similar to that of its predecessor, is the main constitutional document constituting and regulating the Court.

The ICJ is composed of fifteen judges elected to nine-year terms by the UN General Assembly and the UN Security Council from a list of people nominated by the national groups in the Permanent Court of Arbitration.

European Court of Human Rights

...is a supra-national or international court established by the European Convention on Human Rights. It hears applications alleging that a contracting state has breached one or more of the human rights provisions concerning civil and political rights set out in the Convention and its protocols.

An application can be lodged by an individual, a group of individuals or one or more of the other contracting states, and, besides judgments, the Court can also issue advisory opinions. The Convention was adopted within the context of the Council of Europe, and all of its 47 member states are contracting parties to the Convention. The Court is based in Strasbourg, France.

The Court was established on 21 January 1959 on the basis of Article 19 of the European Convention on Human Rights when its first members were elected by the Consultative Assembly of the Council of Europe.

International Criminal Court

...is an intergovernmental organization and international tribunal that has the jurisdiction to prosecute individuals for the international crimes of genocide, crimes against humanity, and war crimes.

The ICC is intended to complement existing national judicial systems and it may therefore only exercise its jurisdiction when certain conditions are met, such as when national courts are unwilling or unable to prosecute criminals or when the United Nations Security Council or individual states refer situations to the Court.

The ICC began functioning on 1 July 2002, the date that the Rome Statute entered into force. The Rome Statute is a multilateral treaty which serves as the ICC's foundational and governing document. States which become party to the Rome Statute, for example by ratifying it, become member states of the ICC. Currently, there are 123 states which are party to the Rome Statute and therefore members of the ICC.

Leave a Reply